Local News

28 Iloilo Local Government Units Hailed ‘Child Friendly’

Just recently, twenty-eight local government units within Iloilo province were awarded the Seal of Child-Friendly Local Governance for 2018 during the recently concluded 2019 Children’s Month celebration of the Iloilo Provincial Government.

The local government units were able to meet the parameters set by the Regional Council for the Protection of Children. The Regional Council for the Protection of Children is composed of regional offices of the Department of Social Welfare and Development as well as the Department of Interior and Local Government.

Parameters include: a local development plan, investment plan, and local code for children; local chief should have delivered a ‘state of children’ address; information drive on the rights of children; and allotment of 1% of its Internal Revenue Allotment for the causes for children.

Local government unit awardees include the following: Duenas, Maasin, San Dionisio, Calinog, New Lucena, Oton, Pavia, Tigbauan, Tubungan, Balasan, Pototan, Concepcion, Dumangas, San Miguel, Alimodian, Batad, Estancia, Lambunao, San Joaquin, Zarraga, Leganes, Dingle, Janiuay, Carles, Igbaras, Badiangan, San Enrique, and Barotac Viejo.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.