Local News

Cinekasimanwa Starts December 6

Highly anticipated Cinekasimwa, now on its seventh edition, recently announced its complete list of opening films. This includes seven short films, seven winning films, and one centerpiece selection film. All films will be making their Philippine/World premiere this coming December 6 at the SM City Iloilo Cinema 6, and all are proudly made by filmmakers from Western Visayas.

The seven short films competing under the Winners Circle Category, films that reigned victorious during the Federation of Film Festivals in Western Visayas. This includes the following: Banaag by Justine Ogapong, Bukot by Demi Claire Moscoso, Kung Ngaa Koton Kendi Ang Mga Panganod by Therese Gomez, Kuntento by Charlton John Jocson, Sa Pag-abat by Christian Vego, Sikway by Daniel Jeff Telic, and Tiyog by Miah Castillo.

Moreover, the seven very short films include Huraw by Patrick Dominic, Dalawidaw by Kim Balasabas, Siphayo by Jane Mariane Biyo together with Katya Marie Corazon Puertellano and Myra Angeline Soriaso, Sala Guid ni Khel by Chester Lloyd Obsina, Hidlaw by Edgar John Zaragosa together with Blessy Grace Valzado and Reynold Sumido Jr, Saw-id Kang Tuburan by Ian Hualde and Christian Vego, and Sa Manlulupig by Jed Descutido.

Joining the World Premiere of the films is the film ‘Azucar’ by Kurt Soberano on December 6 at the SM City Iloilo Cinema 6. Azucar is one of the seven centerpiece selection films that won the Western Visayas Film Grants Program of the Department of Tourism – Region VI and Cinekasimanwa.

For tickets for the upcoming Cinekasimanwa, message the official Facebook page of Cinekasimanwa. Cinekasimanwa is the official film festival of Region VI, Western Visayas and is the largest regional film festival in the Philippines.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.