National News

Duterte Extends ECQ in High Risk Areas

President Rodrigo Duterte recently ordered the extension of the enhanced community quarantine in Metro Manila, Central Luzon, Calabarzon, and other ‘high risk’ areas in Luzon until May 15, in an article published by the Inquirer. The decision was made Thursday evening and aired on national television Friday morning.

Apart from the three regions, the following provinces may likely remain in ECQ: Pangasinan, Benguet, Albay, Catanduanes, and Mindoro. However, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque clarified that the extension is still subject to re-checking and may still be revised by April 30.

It can be recalled that the President has placed the entire Luzon under ‘lockdown’ which was supposed to end last April 13 but was extended until April 30. To date (as of April 23), there is a total of 6,981 confirmed cases (271 new cases), 722 total recoveries (29 new recoveries), and 462 total deaths (16 new deaths).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.