Iloilo Province

Guide to Tigbauan Iloilo

First District Iloilo, Guide to Tigbauan Iloilo

Guide to Tigbauan Iloilo: The first congressional district is one of the five congressional districts of the province of Iloilo in the Philippines. It is composed of the following municipalities: Guimbal, Igbaras, Miagao, Oton, San Joaquin, Tigbauan, and Tubungan. The district has been represented in the House of Representatives of the Philippines since 1916 and earlier in the Philippine Assembly from 1907 to 1916.

First Congressional District of Iloilo

  • Municipality of Guimbal
  • Municipality of Igbaras
  • Municipality of Miagao
  • Municipality of Oton
  • Municipality of San Joaquin
  • Municipality of Tigbauan
  • Municipality of Tubungan
  • Municipality of Guimbal

Tigbauan is a 2nd class municipality in the province of Iloilo. As of 2020, it has a total population of 65,245. The town ranks as one of the leading municipalities in terms of fish production. Politically, it is subdivided into 52 barangays.

Event highlights include the Saludan Festival, and Adlaw sang Tigbauan (the third Friday of October). Tourism attractions include the Bearland Paradise Resort, Sol Y Mar Beach Resort, Shamrock Beach Resort, to mention a few. It is also home to the Southeast Asian Fisheries Development  Center (SEAFDEC)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.