Iloilo Province

Guide to Guimbal Iloilo

First District Iloilo, Guide to Guimbal Iloilo

Guide to Guimbal Iloilo: The first congressional district is one of the five congressional districts of the province of Iloilo in the Philippines. It is composed of the following municipalities: Guimbal, Igbaras, Miagao, Oton, San Joaquin, Tigbauan, and Tubungan. The district has been represented in the House of Representatives of the Philippines since 1916 and earlier in the Philippine Assembly from 1907 to 1916.

First Congressional District of Iloilo

  • Municipality of Guimbal
  • Municipality of Igbaras
  • Municipality of Miagao
  • Municipality of Oton
  • Municipality of San Joaquin
  • Municipality of Tigbauan
  • Municipality of Tubungan
  • Municipality of Guimbal

Guimbal is a 4th class municipality in the province of Iloilo. As of 2020, it has a total population of 35,022. Having nine kilometers (5.6 miles) of shoreline facing the Panay Gulf, the town has attracted tourists for its scenic beaches and inland resorts. The coastal community is located in the southwestern part of the province. It is 29 kilometers (18 miles) from Iloilo City and has a total land area of 4,461 hectares. Politically, it is subdivided into 33 barangays, 11 within the Poblacion (town center) and 22 outside.

Festivals and event highlights in the town include Bantayan Festival, Disyembre sa Guimbal Celebration, Annual Town Fiesta (September 20), and Holy Week Celebration (Bari-Bari). Tourism attractions include the Guimbal Church, Moro Watchtowers, Guimbal Steel Bridge, Public Plaza, New Municipal Building, Taytay Tigre, and the Ayaw Ayaw Monument.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.