Iloilo Province

Guide to Igbaras Iloilo

First District Iloilo, Guide to Igbaras Iloilo

Guide to Igbaras Iloilo: The first congressional district is one of the five congressional districts of the province of Iloilo in the Philippines. It is composed of the following municipalities: Guimbal, Igbaras, Miagao, Oton, San Joaquin, Tigbauan, and Tubungan. The district has been represented in the House of Representatives of the Philippines since 1916 and earlier in the Philippine Assembly from 1907 to 1916.

First Congressional District of Iloilo

  • Municipality of Guimbal
  • Municipality of Igbaras
  • Municipality of Miagao
  • Municipality of Oton
  • Municipality of San Joaquin
  • Municipality of Tigbauan
  • Municipality of Tubungan
  • Municipality of Guimbal

Igbaras is a third class municipality in the province of Iloilo. As of 2020, it has a total population of 32,197. Nestled on the southwestern part of the province, it is 40 kilometers (25 miles) from Iloilo City. Politically, it is subdivided into 46 barangays.

Event highlight in the town is its Annual Town Festival (May 22). Tourism attractions include Mount Napulak, Bahi-Bahi, Lagsakan Falls, Timapok Falls, Guiritsan Falls, Sampanan Falls, Bat Cave, Igcabugao Cave, and Bais Cave. Moreover, a species of Rafflesia is also found in this town.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.