Iloilo Province

Guide to Miagao Iloilo

First District Iloilo, Guide to Miagao Iloilo

Guide to Miagao Iloilo: The first congressional district is one of the five congressional districts of the province of Iloilo in the Philippines. It is composed of the following municipalities: Guimbal, Igbaras, Miagao, Oton, San Joaquin, Tigbauan, and Tubungan. The district has been represented in the House of Representatives of the Philippines since 1916 and earlier in the Philippine Assembly from 1907 to 1916.

First Congressional District of Iloilo

  • Municipality of Guimbal
  • Municipality of Igbaras
  • Municipality of Miagao
  • Municipality of Oton
  • Municipality of San Joaquin
  • Municipality of Tigbauan
  • Municipality of Tubungan
  • Municipality of Guimbal

Miagao is a first-class municipality in the province of Iloilo. As of 2020, it has a total population of 68,115. Miagao is dubbed the ‘Onion Capital of the Visayas’. Its town center is nestled on the western bank of the Tumagbok River, the largest river in the municipality. Politically, it is subdivided into 119 barangays, the most barangays in any other municipality in the Philippines – 22 of which are coastal barangays and 97 are landlocked.

Event highlight in the town is its Annual Town Festival (September 22) which lasts several days. Tourism attractions include the Miagao Church (one of the Baroque Churches in the Philippines and inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Miagao was also inscribed as UNESCO World Heritage City and became a member of the Organization of World Heritage Cities).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.