Iloilo Province

Guide to Oton Iloilo

First District Iloilo, Guide to Oton Iloilo

Guide to Oton Iloilo: The first congressional district is one of the five congressional districts of the province of Iloilo in the Philippines. It is composed of the following municipalities: Guimbal, Igbaras, Miagao, Oton, San Joaquin, Tigbauan, and Tubungan. The district has been represented in the House of Representatives of the Philippines since 1916 and earlier in the Philippine Assembly from 1907 to 1916.

First Congressional District of Iloilo

  • Municipality of Guimbal
  • Municipality of Igbaras
  • Municipality of Miagao
  • Municipality of Oton
  • Municipality of San Joaquin
  • Municipality of Tigbauan
  • Municipality of Tubungan
  • Municipality of Guimbal

Oton is a first-class municipality in the province of Iloilo. As of 2020, it has a total population of 98,509. It is also a part of the Metro Iloilo – Guimaras area centered on Iloilo City. Eleven kilometers (6.8 miles) west of Iloilo City, Oton is bordered by the municipality of Tigbauan to the west, San Miguel to the north, Pavia to the northeast, Panay Gulf to the south, and the district of Arevalo, and Iloilo City to the east. Politically, it is subdivided into 37 barangays.

The town’s economy is fueled by a growing number of properties – Gaisano Oton, Puregold Oton, and Vista Mall are located in this town. Other tourist attractions include Anhawan Beach Resort and Spa, Adhara Eco Boutique Resort, and Sheridan Boutique Resort to mention a few.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.