National News

PH Imposes Travel Ban to Countries with COVID-19 Variant

The country has recently banned the entry of travelers from countries with reported cases of the new COVID-19 variant. A memorandum was signed by Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea confirming that President Rodrigo Duterte has approved the expanded travel ban. The ban will be from December 30, 2020, to January 15, 2021.

This involves the following countries: United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Netherlands, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. Read more: PH imposes travel ban on more countries with new COVID-19 variant, an article by CNN Philippines.

Moreover, those in transit and will arrive before December 30 will be allowed to enter but will undergo a 14-day quarantine regardless of RT-PCR results. Outbound travel, meanwhile, is subject to existing exit protocols.

It may be recalled that a new variant, VUI 202012/01 was first detected in the United Kingdom and is said to be more transmissible. The UK has already imposed a lockdown in London, Southeastern England, and tightened restrictions for all of England. To date, other countries with the known COVID-19 variant are the following: Denmark, the Netherlands, Australia, Japan, and France.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.