Iloilo Province

Guide to San Joaquin Iloilo

First District Iloilo, Guide to San Joaquin Iloilo

Guide to San Joaquin Iloilo: The first congressional district is one of the five congressional districts of the province of Iloilo in the Philippines. It is composed of the following municipalities: Guimbal, Igbaras, Miagao, Oton, San Joaquin, Tigbauan, and Tubungan. The district has been represented in the House of Representatives of the Philippines since 1916 and earlier in the Philippine Assembly from 1907 to 1916.

First Congressional District of Iloilo

  • Municipality of Guimbal
  • Municipality of Igbaras
  • Municipality of Miagao
  • Municipality of Oton
  • Municipality of San Joaquin
  • Municipality of Tigbauan
  • Municipality of Tubungan
  • Municipality of Guimbal

San Joaquin is a 2nd class municipality in the province of Iloilo. As of 2020, it has a total population of 52,617. Nestled on the southern tip of the province, it is 53 kilometers (33 miles) from Iloilo City and 44 kilometers (27 miles) from San Jose de Buenavista of the Province of Antique. One of the rivers that traverse the town is the Siwaragan River with Barangay Siwaragan and Bucaya situated in its mouth. Politically, the town is subdivided into 85 barangays.

Event highlight in the town is its Bayluhay Festival, celebrated every third week of January. Tourism attractions include the San Joaquin Church, Garin Farm, Talisayan Beach Resort, Cata-an Cove, and Tobog Beach Resort.

Related: Guide to San Joaquin

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.