Local News

Total Quarantine in 11 Iloilo Towns Every Sunday

Eleven towns in the fifth district will have a ‘total quarantine’ starting April 12, to strengthen its efforts in battling the COVID-19 pandemic. The ‘total quarantine’ will be a practice every Sunday in the following towns namely, Ajuy, Balasan, Concepcion, Barotac Viejo, Sara, Batad, Carles, Estancia, Lemery, San Dionisio, and San Rafael.

Dubbed ‘Quinto Sunday Total Quarantine’, the joint memorandum circular was laid by 11 local chief executives, last April 08. The mandate will be enforced until April 30, every Sunday, from 9pm preceding Saturday until 4am of the following Monday.

The ‘total quarantine’ bans persons to go out of the villages except during emergencies. Moreover, loitering and visitation within the villages are also prohibited. In addition, all establishments are encouraged to close on Sundays with the exception of drugstores, hospitals, and medical clinics. Scandalous sounds from sound systems and videoke are also prohibited.

“Vehicles and persons from other municipalities outside the Congressional District, Iloilo City, and Passi City, with valid enhanced community quarantine pass and travel documents passing through the municipalities of northern Iloilo shall not be hampered,” an excerpt from the circular, in an article published by the Philippine News Agency.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.