Iloilo Province

Guide to Tubungan Iloilo

First District Iloilo, Guide to Tubungan Iloilo

Guide to Tubungan Iloilo: The first congressional district is one of the five congressional districts of the province of Iloilo in the Philippines. It is composed of the following municipalities: Guimbal, Igbaras, Miagao, Oton, San Joaquin, Tigbauan, and Tubungan. The district has been represented in the House of Representatives of the Philippines since 1916 and earlier in the Philippine Assembly from 1907 to 1916.

First Congressional District of Iloilo
Municipality of Guimbal
Municipality of Igbaras
Municipality of Miagao
Municipality of Oton
Municipality of San Joaquin
Municipality of Tigbauan
Municipality of Tubungan
Municipality of Guimbal

Tubungan is a 4th class municipality in the province of Iloilo. As of 2020, it has a total population of 23,021. The town is 41 kilometers (25 miles) from Iloilo City and has a total land area of 8,518 hectares (21,050 acres). Its topography is dominated by gently rolling hills and idyllic mountains. Politically, it is subdivided into 48 barangays.

Event highlight in the town is its Tubong Tubong Festival (April 26 to May 01). Tourism attractions include Barangay Ituble (Tubig Sumpit, Bato Sumpit, Bato Tariwis, Labay Cave), Cruz sa Balabago, Tindug Bato, Bato Simbahan, Pinihakan Daraga, and Binugsukan Falls.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.